Same Daily Prompt–Transformation

Transformation

Today, same morning. Get up, make coffee, check my messages, send replies, read the devotional for today, promptly forget everything it said, walk the dog, make to do list. On and on, again.

I had gone to bed wrapped in one of my grandmother’s old quilts, heavy, well constructed. Wrapped around me, it was very much like a cocoon. I fully expected to wake up this morning in a completely new form. A happy, content, satisfied brain. A whole, unscarred heart. An open, loving attitude. Alas, I am still only a worm….no chance of beauty here. Only ugly bitterness, enforced isolation, anger that consumes all my best intentions.

Transformation apparently requires more effort than I have energy to expend.

Leave a Reply

